Canary Islands

Islas Canarias // Spanish Archipelago // Two Capital Cities // Rich Marine Life // Over 1,500km of coastline // 12 million visitors a year...

Known in Spanish as Islas Canarias, the Canaries or Canary Islands are an archipelago of Spanish islands located off the northwest coast of Africa and are one of Spain’s 17 autonomous communities.

The islands are made up of Alegranza, Gran Canaria, El Hierro, Fuerteventura, Tenerife, La Gomera, La Graciosa, La Palma, Isla de Lobos, Lanzarote, Montana Clara, Roque del Este and Roque del Oeste. Two cities share the honour of being the capital of the islands – Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

The most popular islands for tourists are Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote and Tenerife.

The Canary Islands enjoy a subtropical climate with temperatures in the summer months averaging around27°C (80°F) in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria and a very pleasant 21°C (69°F) in the winter.

There are eight airports in the Canary Islands, the largest being in Gran Canaria, as well as two in Tenerife. Large and high speed ferries link the islands together and there is a Tram system linking Santa Cruz de Tenerife with San Cristóbal de La Laguna.

Marine Life
The Canary Islands have a rich and varied marine life and is a popular scuba diving destination. You will find may a fish species from sharks and moray eels to crabs and five different species of marine turtle.

For more information on what there is to see and do in islands please visit their website:

Our Reviews
Thank you for choosing Our Man On The Ground to be your luxury travel guide to match you to your perfect destination. Read on for the city's highlights, our reviews on its hidden gem hotels, restaurants, bars, pubs and great things to do.

If you know what you're looking for, then please use the 'Type' filter below.

Photograph: Jandia Beach in Fuerteventura

Search for places: